BCMMA 14: And New!

It was definitely the biggest card BCMMA had put together on paper, but it wasn’t the ‘bigger’ names that delivered us the real drama.

Let’s just get straight to the point: David ‘One More’ Round is a lunatic. In our BCMMA 14 preview, we described him as Mr ‘any time, any place’ – he’s a fighter’s fighter, a card saver. This was never more true than in September of last year when Round took yet another last minute fight.

In Bulgaria.

Though he came away with a loss, the result did little to dent his reputation as someone who never backs down from a challenge, no matter where or when it takes place. Despite earning such a rep for being fearless, few expected him to fare well against Cage Warriors veteran, Sean Carter.

Having already saved the fight – stepping in on less than 48 hours notice – Round had done his part, he wasn’t supposed to win.

Nobody told him.

In a move reminiscent of Travis Browne’s dual demolitions of Josh Barnett and Gabriel Gonzaga, Round made Carter pay for a takedown attempt, unleashing some brutal elbows and earning the stoppage in the first frame.

According to our Twitter poll, you all knew this would be one to watch, and it didn’t disappoint.

BCMMA 14 Twitter Poll

If you followed our main and undercard picks of the night, then you were treated to two of the more technical fights on display in Christopher Darre vs. Connor Hitchens, and Luis Gonzalez vs. Nicolas Leblond.

Hitchens unseated former amateur bantamweight champion Darre, besting him over three rounds to claim the belt. Despite starting well, Darre had no answer for Hitchens over the next two rounds, leaving little doubt as to who was walking away victorious.

A fight of the night contender, Gonzalez vs. Leblond reminded us why we enjoy watching the 125lbs division. It was fast, fluid and brilliantly technical. After as fairly evenly matched first round, Leblond stepped up his striking game, increasingly finding Gonzalez’s chin. Gonzalez responded with perfectly executed takedowns, maintaining top control for much of the second round. It was more of the same in the final frame, with Leblond pushing forward more and more, having success on the fight and appearing to stagger Gonzalez slightly. In pressing forwards, the Belgian left openings for Gonzalez to exploit, something he did brilliantly with some superbly timed takedowns. In the end it was the top control and takedowns that did it for Gonzalez, with the Team Titan fighter edging out a tight unanimous decision victory. BCMMA would be advised to bring both fighters back, before they get snapped up by the bigger shows.

Also on the card: Luke Barnatt maintained his perfect professional record in the UK, dispatching of hapless foe, Charles Andrade in the third round. John Maguire took a well earned decision over Aymard Guih, narrowly missing out on numerous kimura attempts.Thomas Robertson continued to impress, stopping Michael Rirsch in the first by way of rear-naked choke, taking home the interim welterweight title. Brian Bouland put away a game Jamie Pritchard in the third round , finishing him by TKO. Rafal Cejrowski defended his amateur light-heavyweight title, defeating Joao Mimoso by unanimous decision, much to the delight of the Poles in attendance, and his hip hop entourage. Joe Harding became the new amateur lightweight champion, beating Geir Kåre Nyland over three rounds.


Main Card

Stephen Martin def. Steve Aimable via unanimous decision
John Maguire def. Aymard Guih via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Thomas Robertsen def. Michael Rirsch via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:08 of round one
David Round def. Sean Carter via TKO (elbows) in round one
Luis Gonzalez def. Nicolas Leblond via unanimous decision
Brian Bouland def. Jamie Pritchard via TKO (punches) at 1:24 of round three
Luke Barnatt def. Charles Andrade via KO (punches) at 0:11 of round three

Amateur Undercard

Rafal Cejrowski def. Joao Mimoso via unanimous decision
Joe Harding def. Geir Kåre Nyland via unanimous decision
Connor Hitchens def. Christopher Darre via unanimous decision
James Webb def. Jaiah Turay via TKO (punches) at 1:03 of round one
Alex Elsey def. Raymond Asare via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:30 of round two
George Neagu def. Barrie Hussey via submission (armbar) at 1:56 of round one
Matthew Findlay def. Espen Espenes via split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)
Jørgen Indsetviken def. Klaudijus Natys via submission (kimura) at 2:53 of round two
Faisal Malik def. Ollie Sarwa via unanimous decision
Enrique Parraguez def. Christian Stava via unanimous decision
Steven Hill def. Callum Roberts via TKO (punches) at 1:52 of round one
Markus Hægland def. Dani Khan via unanimous decision
Luca Senatore def. Matt Liz via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:34 of round one
Craig Edwards def. Andreas Syse via KO (punches) at 0:24 of round one
Eric Mambo def. Toure Sereba via unanimous decision